Quotes: a visual take on the words of others

As i mentioned in an earlier post, myself and the Chester graphic design students were throwing an exhibition to raise money for our final show in June.

The topic of our exhibition was quotes. As i mentioned i enjoyed TV and film so i was more interested in participating in this exhibition.

I had already picked a film in mind: The Shawshank Redemption.

shawshank_redemption_ver1

And i had started looking into suitable quotes to work with:

“I wish i could, but prison is not a fairytale world.”

“Get busy livin’ or get busy dyin'”

“I have to remind myself that some birds aren’t meant to be caged. Their feathers are just too bright. And when they fly away, the part of you that knows it was a sin to lock them up DOES rejoice. Still, the place you live in is that much more drab and empty that they’re gone. I guess I just miss my friend.”

“In prison a man will do almost anything to keep his mind occupied.”

“Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things and no good thing ever dies.”

“I find I’m so excited, I can barely sit still or hold a thought in my head. I think it’s the excitement only a free man can feel, a free man at the start of a long journey whose conclusion is uncertain. I hope I can make it across the border. I hope to see my friend, and shake his hand. I hope the Pacific is as blue as it has been in my dreams. I hope.”

Each of these quotes would be perfect to use for my poster. After much though i decided which quote i wanted to go forward with and that was “get busy livin’ or get busy dyin'”. This quote was simple and effective and would stand out well in my planned poster design i mentioned in an earlier post.

 

Leave a comment

Archives

February 2013
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Pages